By Kim Manahan (Whetstone staff writer)

The pews overflowed with parents, relatives and faculty as students received awards at Wesley’s Founder’s Day convocation in the sun-filled chapel March 28.

Dozens of students and several teachers were honored during the hour-long event.

Professors also overflowed with praise for the award-winning students.

“His love of music in contagious,” said Music Professor Jonathan Emmons when he awarded freshman Wesley Dessescow with an choral award.

“It’s my pleasure to work with her,” said Dr. David Laganella when he presented Rachel Coats with the Moor Music award for instrumental achievement.

The event began with “Movement I from Concerto in D Major” as members of the faculty filed into the chapel dressed in academic regalia, followed by President William Johnston to begin.

Dr. Patricia Dwyer, vice president for academic affairs, welcomed everyone, followed by Dr. Mark Pruett-Barnett who delivered the opening prayer.

After Johnston addressed the crowd, Amy Kellen, Jennifer Telles, Wesley Dessescow, and Bill Kroen performed “When I am Filled with Music,” by Stephen Paulus.

Awards were then given to students.

Shane Miller received the Samuel R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship for his work on The Whetstone’s online Web site.

Business major Nicholas Johnson received the Harry Palmer Memorial Scholarship, whom Dwyer described as an “excellent student and tutor.”

Dwyer also presented the William F. Milbury award to honors student Melissa Savin for her contributions to the environment.

History Major Victoria Hall got the Joseph and Mary Bellmeyer Award. It was given by the Bellmeyers’ daughter, Nancy Everett, who choked up when speaking of her late father’s contributions to Wesley.

Hall, who attained a 3.9 GPA, is a member of the De La Warr society and anticipates becoming a high school history teacher.

Professor Hessling presented Kayla Sherwood with the Marie Brucoli-Crowley Memorial.

Science awards were given to students by Dr. Kathleen Curran.

For achievements in biological chemistry, Brian Mahon received the Theodore A.H. O’Brien Scholarship, and Rachel Bozarth earned one for environmental science.

Bozarth also was awarded the Mona Lynn Casey Scholarship, presented by Dr. Bruce Allison.

The CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award, which is given to a first year student, went to freshman Aaron Givens.

Greg McKee received the Qaissaunee Award for his work as a research scholar in the field.

Senior Kim Manahan was awarded the John Pelzer Memorial Award which was presented by Professor Victor Greto. The Pelzer award is named for John Pelzer, a former director of the writing center.

Heather Bailey, Erik Shellenbamer, Nikita Szoke and Travis Vogl were all given a Reynolds DuPont Scholarship.

Professor Marilyn H. Johnson presented Suzanne Palguta with the Roland O. Jones Scholarship.

Award-winning nursing students were introduced by Dr. Lucille Gambardella, the chair of the nursing department.

David Dubuque, a Delaware firefighter and EMT, was presented with the Elizabeth Scott Rugg Memorial Award; Jessica Messwick shook hands with Lynn Knable (’67), who gave her the Lillian Wood Schmid Award, established in honor of her mother.

Jane McDonald (’60), chair of the Alumni Scholarship Committee, awarded several students with alumni scholarships.

The Keith Family Memorial Scholarship went to Joseph Perez; the Mildred Spencer Alumni Scholarship went to elementary education major Dana Keller; the Lewis A. Wells Memorial Scholarship went to Erik Gillespie; and the Scott D. Miller Leadership award was given to nursing major Brandon Hoskins.